May 9, 2022 | Sex Crimes
Distance matters in the law. Criminal statutes use distances to draw out bright-line barriers that certain members of the public must obey. For example, sex offenders must follow specific distance guidelines when choosing where to live.
However, determining this distance may be a challenge in some cases. Distance measuring formulas and starting and stopping points for measurements sometimes cause confusion.
What Does 1,000 Feet Within a School Area Equal in Miles?
In Kentucky and many other states,1,000 feet is the distance legislatures choose when deciding how far sex offenders must live from schools, preschools, or child daycare facilities.
This distance is far less than a mile, which equates to 5,280 feet. So sex offenders are permitted to live within a mile of these facilities.
To find out how much of one mile 1,000 feet represents, simply take 1,000 and divide it by 5,280. The resulting figure is 0.189 miles, which is less than a quarter-mile.
How Do I Correctly Measure the 1,000 Feet?
There are many ways to measure the distance between two points. However, a person who is required to register as a sex offender must make their measurements according to the Kentucky statute that mandates said living distance.
According to KRS 17.545(1), registrants must make their measurements using a straight line from one point to the other. In other words, driving or walking distances, which are not typically measured in a straight line, are not appropriate.
Additionally, the measurement must be taken from the nearest property line of the potential residence to the nearest property line of the school or facility. This means the measurements don’t start or end at the buildings on these properties but from the property lines.
What Are the Penalties for Living Within 1,000 Feet of a School or Similar Facility?
Any person who is a registered sex offender may face stiff penalties if caught living within 1,000 feet of a school or similar facility. Upon conviction of a first offense, a sex offender faces a Class A misdemeanor, which can result in up to 12 months of jail time and a maximum of $500 in fines.
A second offense for living within 1,000 feet of a school or similar facility is a Class D felony charge, which requires convicted offenders to serve between one and five years in prison.
Who Must Register as a Sex Offender?
Individuals over 18 years of age who have been convicted of a sex crime and sentenced to punishment are considered sex offenders.
Sex offenses in the state of Kentucky that result in sex offender status include:
- Sexual abuse
- Sexual misconduct
- Indecent exposure
- Sex with a minor
- Production of child pornography
- Human trafficking
Once a person has been convicted of a sex crime, they will eventually have to register as a sex offender. Registering is the responsibility of the convicted individual and is not an automatic process.
How Long Does the Sex Offender Status Last in Kentucky?
In Kentucky, sex offenders are required to register with the state for at least 20 years. Some may be required to register for life, depending on the circumstances of the crime committed.
1,000 feet is just under 20% or a fifth of a mile. A person who must register as a sex offender must take care in measuring this distance from the correct points, which are the nearest place on the property lines between the school or another facility and the sex offender’s residence.Failing to abide by distance mandates or failing to register can lead to misdemeanor or felony charges and time in jail or prison. If you are required to register as an offender and are unsure about your status and requirements, contact a Louisville criminal defense lawyer experienced in sex offender cases to get clear on your obligations.
Contact the Louisville Sex Crimes Attorneys at Suhre & Associates, LLC For Help Today
Suhre & Associates, LLC – Louisville
214 Clay Street, Suite A
Louisville, KY 40202