Driver’s License Suspension in Louisville

A consequence of driving under the influence (DUI) in Louisville, KY, is a suspended driver’s license. Losing your driving privileges can have a significant impact on your life. If you are caught driving with a suspended driver’s license, you could face jail time and high fines. 

Our Louisville DUI defense lawyers can help protect your driving privileges. We’ll fight to keep you out of jail and driving a vehicle after a DUI arrest. Our criminal defense team at Suhre & Associates DUI and Criminal Defense Lawyers includes a former police officer and a former prosecutor.

Contact our law firm at (502) 371-7000 to schedule your free consultation with an experienced Louisville criminal defense attorney. 

How Our Louisville DUI Lawyers Help You Avoid a Driver’s License Suspension

Our Louisville DUI attorneys have over 100 years of combined legal experience. We thoroughly understand Kentucky DUI laws and how prosecutors and judges treat drunk driving cases in Louisville. Our legal team is ready to help you fight DUI charges.

When you hire Suhre & Associates DUI and Criminal Defense Lawyers, you can expect us to:

  • Investigate your DUI arrest to determine whether it was a lawful arrest
  • Review and analyze the evidence the state has against you
  • Challenge the results of a chemical test for BAC levels
  • Explore all potential DUI defenses 
  • Discuss your legal options, including accepting a DUI plea bargain or going to trial
  • Aggressively negotiating with the prosecutor to reduce charges and sentences
  • Pursue your case in court, if that is the best strategy for your case

We understand that facing a lengthy suspension of your driver’s license is tough. Let’s work together to avoid that consequence, if possible. Call us to schedule a free case evaluation with a DUI attorney in Louisville, Kentucky.

When Does Kentucky Suspend a Driver’s License For DUI?

As of July 1, 2020, Kentucky changed the suspension periods for DUIs. The period depends on the type of conviction. Driver’s license suspension periods for drunk driving are:

  • First DUI Offense within 10 years – 6-month license suspension
  • Second DUI Offense within 10 years – 18-month license suspension
  • Third DUI Offense within 10 years – 3-year license suspension 
  • Fourth DUI Offense within 10 years – 5-year suspension 

If you have a commercial driver’s license, you face a one-year driver’s license suspension for a DUI in any motor vehicle. 

Kentucky also suspends driver’s licenses for failing to take a chemical test. If you refuse to take a chemical test for BAC levels, you lose your driving privileges for the same amount of time you would have lost your license if convicted of the DUI offense. 

Can I Reduce the Suspension Period for a DUI?

If you install an ignition interlock device (IID), you may be eligible for a reduced suspension period. For example, you could reduce the suspension period for a first offense to just four months. Likewise, installing an IID could reduce the third offense to just an 18-month driver’s license suspension.

What Are the Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Louisville?

Kentucky Revised Statute §189A.090 sets the penalties for driving a vehicle while your driver’s license is suspended for driving under the influence. For a first offense of driving with a suspended license, the judge could order you to serve up to 90 days and require you to pay a fine of up to $250. The court may also extend the driver’s license suspension by six months.

If your BAC is over the legal limit and your driver’s license was suspended for DUI, you could serve up to one year in jail and face a $500 fine. The suspension period is extended by one year.

The fines, jail time, and suspension extension increase for second and third offenses. A second offense of driving with a suspended license increases the jail time to one year and the fine to $500. If you are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, it is a Class D felony, which could result in up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. 

What Do I Have To Do To Get My Driver’s License Reinstated?

You must wait until the end of your DUI suspension period to reinstate your driver’s license. Before reinstatement, you must pay your fines, serve your jail sentence, and complete your court-ordered alcohol or substance abuse program. You may also be required to install an ignition interlock device. 

You must also pay the reinstatement fee to the Kentucky Department of Transportation and follow the procedures for reinstatement. 

The best way to avoid losing your driver’s license is to fight the DUI charges. Our Louisville DUI defense attorneys can help you present a solid defense that could avoid a suspension. So before pleading guilty to DUI, talk with a lawyer.

Schedule a Free Consultation With Our Louisville Driver’s License Suspension Lawyers

Our team of skilled DUI lawyers provides aggressive legal representation for our clients. Contact our law office 24/7 to schedule your free consultation with one of our experienced Louisville driver’s license suspension lawyers.